Arancini cupcakes

– Arancini cupcakes –

Not the most straight forward but worth the wait. I have to admit, the cupcake form came from failed a risotto mixture but that’s what cooking is about. Trying new things, learning and making the most out of what you have.
They made great breakfast bites from the fridge each morning.

So, what went wrong?
I rushedΒ my risotto. To perfect this recipe takes a lot of attempts and infinite time. I didn’t use enough stock, hence it wasn’t rounded enough to make arancini so I deconstructed it. There are loads on online recipes but try a risotto a few times before trying anything more.

The recipe
Risotto: In a saucepan, heat some water and add veg stock. In a different pan heat a small amount of oil in a pan. Fry off garlic and onion before adding mushroom. Cook for about 6-8mins or until you’re happy with it. Add the rice (arborio/risotto) and fry for about a minute until translucent. Add white wine here for more flavourΒ to your risotto and cook for a couple of minutes. Then slowly, constantly stirring, add your stock a ladle at a time. The slower the better so the rice can fully absorb the liquid (this is where I rushed). You can tell once you have the right consistency, take off the heat and add a knob of butter (or some coconut oil which I do) and season. You can add cheese here also. Sub in any cooked meat/veg you’d like for mushrooms.
Arancini: Leave the risotto to thicken (overnight preferably, in the fridge). Make a dry mix of breadcrumbs, grated cheese and seasoning. This is where you can make balls, roll in the mix and fry or bake. Mine didn’t quite get there so I got my baking tray out, put the risotto in to the cupcake tins and topped with the mixture. Baked until golden.

I’ve adapted the ingredients to fit my needs and it turned out incredibly.
Give it a try and comment for any questions!

I made my own sauce which I often do. Simple, tasty and you know what’s going in to it.
Arrabbiata sauce: In a deep baking tray but plum tomatoes, red onion, garlic, chillies, salt/pepper/parika (or other spice). Roast for around 20 mins and then blitz. Store in a kilner jar or bowl and heat up when needed.

Leave a Reply

